And the winner is…

I’m a few days behind in my postings but I’ll catch you all up to date.  After the cheese factory I went to a Balsamic Vinegar factory, Acetaia San Giacomo.  I absolutely loved it.  It was so fascinating to see the process right before my eyes and taste the variance of the ages of the balsamic.  True balsamic vinegar is made from pressed Trebbiano and Lambrusco grapes.  The syrup from the grapes “mosto cotto” is then aged for a minimum of 12 years in wooden barrels, kind of like wine. 

You can tell how many years the balsamic is aged for based on the label color.  A red label means the vinegar has been aged for at least 12 years, a silver label that the vinegar has aged for at least 18 years and a gold label that designates the vinegar has aged for 25 years or more.

 

As I travel I am going to be giving away products from the places I visit and it is time to do so…the winner will recieve a bottle of balsamic vinegar “Agro di Mosto”, and the winner is Roc***1@comcast.net Congratulations and thank you for following the blog! Please leave a comment to let everyone know that you are continuing to follow and I will contact you via e-mail!

To catch up on my travels, I arrived in Mola di Bari, that special place was I was born and where I feel most at home in Italy.  I spent my day with my dad’s friend Nicola and his wife who prepared a 12 course amazing meal including delicious sun-dried tomatoes.  I felt very welcomed and relaxed.  Then I spent my evening cleaning the villa where I had to dispose of three lizards and sweep up some debris that made its way in.  I was quite productive despite having a vehicle.  I am still waiting to get insurance and hoping to get it ASAP so I can get a new phone card, internet card and start working in Bari!

Ciao a tutti!

Leave a Reply

